FDI 2016 Poznań, Poland

Entry & exit formalities


Citizens of EU countries do not need visas to visit Poland and can stay indefinitely. Citizens of the USA, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Israel, Japan and many other countries can stay in Poland for up to 90 days without a visa.

Other nationalities should check current visa requirements with the Polish embassy or consulate in their home country.

Note that Poland is a member of the EU’s common border and customs area, the Schengen Zone, which imposes its own 90-day visa-free travel limit on visitors from many countries outside the European Union. In practice, this means your time in Poland would count against your stay within the entire Schengen Zone – so plan your travel accordingly. There’s more information on the Polish Ministry of Foreign Affairs website.

Shifting borders

Poland is a member of the EU’s common border area, the Schengen zone, and travel to neighbouring EU countries, including Germany, the Czech Republic, Slovakia and Lithuania, no longer requires passports or visas.


Theoretically, the expiry date of your passport should not be less than three months after the date of your departure from Poland. Additionally, some airlines may deny travel to passengers whose passports are within six months of expiration.